about | contact | sign up | faq
* indicates required
Would you like to subscribe to any artist lists?

Music Sounds Better With Huw Vol. 1

Radio 1 DJ and presenter Huw Stephens, Britain’s premier authority in new music, is to release his first-ever compilation of exciting new talent and music in conjunction with Wichita Recordings this month.

Featuring 21 tracks hand-picked by the face of BBC’s ‘Introducing’, Music Sounds Better With Huw: Volume 1 is a snapshot of the new talent that is regularly played out on Huw Stephen’s Radio 1 show, showcased on his Wales C4 TV appearances and curated at the now-annual SWN Festival in Cardiff, as well as various festival stages at the likes of Reading / Leeds, Glastonbury and Lattitude.

The majority of tracks are exclusive to the compilation and include talent from the whole of the British Isles in the likes of Leed’s Dinosaur Pile Up and Pulled Apart By Horses, Scotland’s Copy Haho, Welsh entities Gallops, Swanton Bombs and Sweet Baboo, plus talent from Iceland (Hjaltalin) and the US (Wax Fang). Full tracklisting at the bottom of the PR.

On June 9 Huw will host the launch gig. The gig will take place at his monthly residency at the Social, Great Portland St in London. Bands playing include Stricken City, Copy Haho, Gallops and the debut live show by the much-talked about Gold Panda. Entry is free and starts at 8pm.


1. Calories – Adventuring
2. Copy Haho – You Are My Coal Mine
3. Wax Fang – World War II (Pt. 2)
4. We Have Band – Oh! (Plugs Remix)
5. Pulled Apart By Horses – The Crapsons
6. Hjaltalin – Suitcase Man
7. Sweet Baboo – Woe Unto Me to Get High
8. Swanton Bombs – Sorrysayer
9. Cyclones – See If I Float
10. Banjo or Freakout – Eighty-Eight
11. Gentle Friendly – Clean Break
12. Young Fathers – Bring It Home
13. Stricken City – Pull The House Down
14. Holy State – Solid State Messiah (vs the Valve Viking)
15. Gallops! – Lasers
16. Tubelord – Somewhere Out There A Dog Is On Fire
17. Dinosaur Pile-up – Opposites Attract
18. Portasound – 4 Minute Warning
19. Colorama – Oyasumi Baby
20. Gold Teeth – Everybody
21. Gold Panda – Like, Totally

The compilation is available digitally and exclusively from iTunes at a entirely reasonable £4.49. To hear all the tracks from the compilation and see more information about the bands, including a Q+A with Huw and comments on each track, visit www.musicsoundsbetterwithhuw.com